Jenny’s Book Review

 

A good library can be a mama’s saving grace.

A good librarian? Even better.

I was reminded of this fact when I recently moved from downtown Damariscotta to a smaller town further out towards the water. On our first full day in our new home my two little ones and I trudged over for a visit to our teensy town library, which is just next door. Upon walking through the door we were all but slapped in the face by the most sullen and uninviting librarian I’ve ever had the displeasure of encountering. She had the ability to make you wish you’d never come in, let alone been born. It was awful. (And apparently she’s like that every day, as we’ve proven on repeat visits. Boo.)

This experience reinforced for me how incredibly lucky I was to have met Jenny Mayher in the children’s department of Skidompha Library in Damariscotta. She – and a couple of her fellow librarians as well! – really made my life bearable last winter when I had just moved back to the Midcoast, and was living downtown with no car. I spent at least 4-5 mornings a week at the library, which is how I met most of my current mama friends. Thank you Skidompha!

But, I digress. I wanted to post about Jenny’s Book Review. This is a relatively new venture for Jenny, but you wouldn’t know it. The site is thoroughly organized, accessible, informative and just plain fun! Jenny has a way with words, a great sense of humor, and an actual interest in kids. That last bit is something you would imagine to be a given with children’s librarians, but… well… don’t get me started. ‘-)

Check out Jenny’s Book Review. Recent posts include a review of the adorable A Visitor for Bear, and a fascinating post on books, boys and brain development.

Happy reading!

 

(marisa)

Leave a Reply

